top of page
  • Krysta Bass

Local Legend: Interview with Santa Barbara Artist Michael Matheson


Santa Barbara is a city known for its authenticity, its commitment to locality and shopping small, and a deep sense of community. It’s because of people like local artist Michael Matheson // Metal Teepee, that this vision is maintained.


Michael Matheson is a Santa Barbara local and has been creating art for local businesses and the community at large for twenty years. I was able to meet Matheson outside of Anacapa Dune last summer and we started chatting about art. After that, I visited his workshop in the Atrium at UCSB everyday and he shared his years of experience with me, illuminating me on precision, skill, and encouraging me in my own work and creativity. Not only was it so beneficial to my craft and passion as an artist, but he is also one of the most fun and kind people I have ever met. This past week, I had the opportunity to interview him about his past experiences and current projects. He offered a unique perspective on quarantine life:

“I see a new future of opportunities in my local community. I’ve been really enjoying interacting with people I didn’t interact with before… This pandemic has been really difficult for a lot of the industry. A lot of my time is spent thinking about our community here and how to help the ones in need like, small businesses, friends, and just making the connection between art and therapy because art is healing.”


Especially in Santa Barbara, I can easily turn a corner and find an amazing mural or another medium of art at a restaurant, coffee shop, or lounge. I find myself not only thinking about the art, but also the hands that made it--their inspiration, drive, and technique. I appreciate it as living rather than stagnant. I’m able to jump into that artist’s perspective on life and the beauty or pain of their story. It makes me realize that there are no boundaries in gaining understanding of the world around you through art and no boundaries to the way it can transcend language, limitations, insecurities, or really anything in this world. I asked Matheson about his favorite pieces in his own work:


“Large format wood carvings are very personal, you make an image, you transfer it, you sit there and you remove material from this wooden block. You’re really having a conversation with the art as your hand becomes the object of making micro decisions around the final product and how you're going to print it after it's all said and done. It’s really a multilayer precision art exercise. It’s visceral but also intuitive.”



Every artist should have their own niche of inspiration that is unique to them, their story, and the work it produces. There is no wrong or right way to feed the creativity box. That’s why comparison needs to be ruled out altogether--it’s the thief of joy. Inspiration should not be ordinary, it should be special to every person, meaning it looks different for every person. My biggest inspirations are Tessa Forrest, Mary Oliver, John Steinbeck, C.S. Lewis, and Ed Ruscha. When questioning him on his unique inspirations, he elaborated:


“I stay inspired by looking at my art community and fellow artists in the Santa Barbara area as well as the art community that exists on social media worldwide. Social media is an important platform because it's the only way we can access and connect with art right now.”


Some of his favorite local artists are:

Jake Vantiger // 805 Ink “always has such awesome work.”

D.J. Javier // “someone who is always pushing and working with cool concepts.”

Colette Cosentino // “I love her constant vigilance to historical painting.”


Personally, I am also pursuing art and what it can do for people on an emotional level as well as how it can impact a space or environment. Art has the capacity to carry a voice through image and deliberate line work that can express meanings beyond words alone. I was curious to know how Matheson maintains his artistic niche, remains true to his style as an artist, and pushes further within that scope:


“Looking at art as a whole and looking at what other people are making and doing helps me push my content so that it stays relevant… I’m always trying new mediums. You have to know yourself and build a visual library using your own history to direct a style. Become obsessed with certain content and that will help you stay original and stay focused on creating new material using your previous works to generate that new content. Try picking up new tools to diversify your style.”



Matheson explains that, “History, outsider art, folk art, and Native American history drawing is a huge trigger” for his creative flow but explains that it is different for everyone, “Having a visual library is an artist’s best resource. Look at it, study it, copy it until you feel like you have the strength to do it on your own. Practice hand eye coordination, collect imagery, and always look at other artists to get inspired.” A visual library can be anything from a pinterest board to saved images on instagram to a scrap-book. Limitations should not exist when it comes to the way you personally connect with art around you and gain inspiration for your own work. As for me, my biggest inspirations are classic literature, Hebrew words and culture, flowers and mountains, and repurposing once disposed items. I love the idea of taking something that was trash and turning it into something beautiful.


Matheson has honed his artistic skill and creative vision in a way that sets him apart from a lot of other artists I’ve seen. He doesn’t just make art, he creates art with the purpose of fostering connection and community in the city that he loves.


(All images are the work and property of Michael Matheson // Metal Teepee).



Favorite flavor of ice cream is Strawberry from Mission Ice Cream

Go to drink is a black coffee from Dune Coffee Roasters

Would have a Submarine Sandwich with Extra Lettuce and Tomato from Metropulos // or a Super El Pastor Burrito from Super Cucas



bottom of page