top of page
  • Ruby Sanchez

Hungry? We Gaucho Back.

Updated: May 29, 2020

Blog written by Ruby Sanchez and Anna Talamantes


Food Insecurity is defined as “a federal measure of a household’s ability to provide enough food for every person in the household to have an active, healthy life.” Studies done in 2017 found that 78% of full-time workers were living paycheck to paycheck, and that 36% of university students experienced food insecurity. Lacking access to nutritious meals has long term ramifications on families, especially those with children. Research shows that students from food insecure families are less likely to graduate from high school. Mental health, depression, anxiety and behavioral problems are more common amongst food-insecure children. As for college students, malnourishment can affect sleep, learning, motivation, and energy levels.


Communities in Santa Barbara, specifically the Lower Westside, turn to El Centro SB for support. Since 2015, El Centro has been a community center where members work together for the “liberation and uplift” of people of color, womxn, youth, indigenous, black, latinx, economically underserved, and LGBTQIA+ communities. They host events like open mic nights, films, donation drives, town halls, and summer programs for the youth. To address food insecurity, El Centro SB is currently in the process of becoming an official hub for food distribution, which requires a certification from the SB Food Bank. But hungry communities cannot wait. Like most low-income neighborhoods and underserved populations, Lower Westside families are being disproportionately affected by economic strains caused by the present health crisis. With community support from UCSB COLA’s Social Welfare Campaign and West Side Food Justice Initiative, El Centro SB distributed staple foods and fresh produce to about 75 families this past Saturday. It is efforts like these that have become essential as the current COVID-19 health crisis causes job losses and reduced hours.


Link to El Centro SB website: https://sites.google.com/view/elcentrosb/home

Link to El Centro SB facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/elcentrosb/





Ruby’s experience with El Centro


I recently discovered El Centro SB and their community efforts. El Centro SB is in some ways similar to the El Centro building here at UCSB. Besides just being a place to study or to take a break, the El Centro building on campus offers a variety of resources to students. It has a kitchen with free food, utensils, and a microwave for students to help themselves to. I was always relieved to be able to stop by El Centro,and heat up my food or even grab some free food. There were many times during undergrad where I skipped a meal because I couldn’t afford it or I just didn’t have time to cook. Food insecurity is a major issue college students experience and it’s a topic that needs to be talked about more. In my opinion, food insecurity among college students has become normalized and that shouldn’t be the case. Many college students are experiencing hunger and lack stable housing. This adds stress and anxiety which affects the quality of education we receive. It’s also important to note that it is POC students who are disproportionately affected by food insecurity. When I spoke with my friends or other UCSB students about food security, it was almost always POC and black students who said they were food insecure. How are we supposed to keep up with our studies if we are focused on how we can afford our next meal?


Another awesome resource available at the El Centro building on campus are the CalFresh advocates. For those that don’t know, CalFresh is a federal government funded program that provides people with the means to shop for healthy foods. The CalFresh advocates helped guide me during the application process and answered all questions I had related to CalFresh. I applied for CalFresh during my junior year of college. It was one of the best decisions I made during my time at UCSB. I had just moved off campus and didn’t have a meal plan anymore. My financial aid also didn’t really cover the cost of groceries and shopping at supermarkets like Albertsons or Sprouts was expensive. I was food insecure and it was starting to take a toll on my mental and physical health. For those college students who don’t have CalFresh, I definitely recommend going to a Calfresh advocate to help you with the application. If interested in learning more about food security for college students, check out Michelle’s blog where she talks more about food security resources on campus!


For me, the El Centro building here on campus is a home away from home. I felt the sense of community whenever I stepped into this space. It has served as a safe space when I felt disconnected from my cultural roots on a predominantly white campus. Being a 1st gen Latina woman has brought its challenges during my time at UCSB. I’m super grateful that I can go to a place like the El Centro building and feel welcomed.



Anna’s Quest for Peppermint Chocolate Chip Muffins


I realized I was food insecure when I started having only a muffin and coffee for breakfast. It was a cheap meal and coffee seemed to fill me up for half a day. At the time, I was living in the dorms and did not have access to a full kitchen or kitchenware, so my only options were the AS Food Bank and the fruit I sneaked out of the dining halls. Thankfully, through the food bank I had access to fruit, snacks, and other services focused on feeding students.

Even after I moved out of the dorms to an apartment in Isla Vista, one of the spaces I most frequented was the AS Food Bank in the University Center. Whether it was to pick up toiletries, zucchini, or a seasonal peppermint chocolate chip muffin (honestly the best thing UCSB has to offer), visiting the Food Bank was a weekly endeavor. The organization’s effort to tackle food insecurity among the Gaucho community contributed to my experience as a hungry Gaucho. Although our Institution is far from perfect, it does provide 1st generation students of color with support. Cal-fresh advocates collaborating with the AS Food Bank, the Food Bank itself, and safe spaces like El Centro and the Chicanx/Latinx Cultural Resource Center (CLCRC) were especially important to my college experience. The CalFresh advocates guided me through the application process to receive Food Stamps, while El Centro and the CLCRC provided a space to study with fruit and snacks throughout the day.





Another huge life-changer for me was when The Arbor started accepting CalFresh. Didn’t get a chance to eat breakfast? I could buy a parfait. Staying on campus longer than expected because I forgot I had a quiz to study for? I could purchase a protein shake! Of course I couldn’t afford to buy products from the Arbor everyday, but it did keep me fed when life was too hectic to meal prep.


These services contributed to my success at UCSB by keeping me fed and healthy. They allowed me to focus on my studies instead of worrying about where my next meal would be coming from. Being able to rely on your campus and community is something I admire about UCSB and the greater Santa Barbara area.


 

- Cover image picture credit to UCSB AS Food Bank (Instagram)

- El Centro SB picture credit to El Centro SB (Instagram)

- "Food Bank Donation at PMA Fresh Summit 2015" by Produce Marketing Association is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0






bottom of page