top of page
  • Michelle Qin

Being Asian American Amidst COVID-19

I’m not proud of being Chinese. For the first time in my life, this thought occurred in my head as I witnessed the multiple discriminatory acts towards Asian Americans both on media outlets as well as in person. For the first time in my life, I felt embarrassed about my ethnicity when I had to go to grocery stores. For the first time in my life, I was afraid of what being Chinese entailed to the public and worried for the safety of not only myself but my friends and family as well. Being recognized as Asian American was once something I wore with pride, especially as a first-generation college student. Now, I can’t help but feel vulnerable, weak, and afraid. The various anti-Asian American hate crimes that have occurred in recent months only further demonstrates this hostility we must face and simply contrasts the promise of equality amongst all, regardless of the race or cultural background that this country proposes.


Besides this pandemic, Asian Americans now need to also worry about their safety when they are in public, which pains me. In San Jose, a predominantly Asian area, several Asian businesses were vandalized, including places like 7LEAVES, Lee’s Sandwiches, and Tastea. Various UCSB students have also experienced discomfort when going to grocery stores as Megan Cheng (3rd, Psych&Brain) describes how she felt an abnormal amount of stares from others and felt as if she was a threat to the shoppers. Due to COVID-19, there has been an increase of xenophobic acts as well as hate crimes that have conclusively affected Asian Americans across the nation. This only increases the divide between ethnicities and belittles our found identity as an equal American. As someone who is greatly intertwined with her Chinese heritage, I find these increasing discriminatory crimes to be horrifying and am utterly disappointed in our country. In a time of such disparity, rather than seeking unification, we are being driven by fear and acting foolishly. Beyond my feelings of embarrassment and vulnerability with my culture, I am angry that this country made me feel this way.


Meanwhile, many celebrities have taken to social media as a platform to emphasize the issues with racism and raise awareness for the Asian American community. Henry Golding and Lana Condor are some examples of those who have all spoken against discriminatory acts towards Asians and emphasizes the importance of unity in a time of uncertainty.





Artists and creatives have also used their platforms to denounce racism against Asians and Asian Americans. In France, the Korean-Swedish cartoonist and graphic designer Lisa Wool-Rim Sjöblom works her artistic abilities to create one-panel comics that highlight the personal hostility she experienced as shown in the image below.




There are many illustrators and artists who are using their social media platforms to fight anti-Asian American discrimination and Coronavirus related racism. More can be explored here: https://www.kqed.org/arts/13877013/artists-fight-coronavirus-related-racism-on-instagram

In a time of struggle, Asian Americans are using their voice to fight against discriminatory acts and biased profanity. Art serves as a way to allow for expression and free-flow creativity, and with the ongoing racism due to COVID-19, many are using visuals to further emphasize the issues with anti-Asian discrimination.


Despite the ongoing racism and discrimination, the Asian American community continues to demonstrate their cultural pride and ultimately stand together in solidarity. Although I have felt discouraged due to my ethnicity, I believe that the gradual amounts of awareness, as well as our strong community, will preserve this personal battle. As we continue our fight with COVID-19, Asian Americans will only maintain unity and create a community to combat racism together.


bottom of page