top of page
  • Michelle Qin

Technology’s Role in Quarantine


I have always believed that the media portrayed technology to be negative and harmful to human beings. Particularly with shows such as Black Mirror and Electric Dreams, technology is depicted to be extremely advanced which results in catastrophe. However, it has undoubtedly benefited mankind in numerous ways and serves as an advantageous tool to increase productivity. With COVID-19, technology has all the more demonstrated how essential and useful it is in everyday activities. We all are affected by the mandated stay-at-home order one way or another, therefore many are finding technology to be the crucial solution to solving many of our ongoing difficulties. For me, technology has helped with virtual social interactions as I have transitioned to video calls through Zoom and messaging apps such as Snapchat and Whatsapp. With these interactive tools, I am making social connections and relationships despite the implementation of social distancing. Softwares such as Slack, G Suite, Microsoft Office are all beneficial developments in allowing professional tasks to be done as well. These tools have supported numerous companies in their transition to work remotely, which is a much better alternative to avoid crowded areas.


Beyond more efficient communication, technology has also become a tool we use in combatting this pandemic. It has seemingly integrated into my life, as now, technology is something I need in order to accomplish my day to day activities. Amidst this quarantine, the first thing when I wake up in the morning is to check my emails since that is now the only communication I have with professors. I play music to ease my stress while I begin my morning activities: making a cup of tea and a peanut butter banana toast. Then, Zoom calls follow one another, beginning with a couple of lectures, then a work call, and lastly a group project call with my classmates. To finish my homework, I need technology. To connect with others, I need technology. To have entertainment, I need technology. It is so intertwined in our daily lives, especially as we all are practicing social distance. The importance of technology cannot be disregarded and is a crucial element to continuing everyday activities and develop a new routine.


Games have also been a source of entertainment for many stuck at home, including me. I personally recommend my two favorite games that I have been constantly playing with my friends throughout quarantine, which are Scribbl.io and Covidopoly Deal. Scribbl.io is essentially Pictionary, as players take


turns drawing a given word and the others must guess what it is. Covidopoly Deal, as you have probably guessed, is Monopoly deal online! This game is well designed and I love playing it to pass time with my friends. Technology also serves as entertainment, and ultimately brings the world together, digitally.


6 views
bottom of page