top of page
  • Kiran Kaur

Raising a Cat with my Roommate

This is purrfect! 



My first thought when my roommate suggested adopting a cat together; I was elated by the idea. I have never had a pet of my own. This would be a new experience where I could give all my love to a little furball; and learn more responsibility. I thought co-cat-parenting with my best friend and college roommate was a great idea, but as we searched the web for the ‘purrfect’ kitten,instead of results, questions began to pop up. How do we equally share responsibility? Who will take care of the cat after we graduate and go our separate ways? What if the cat gets sick? And most importantly, how do we equally collaborate on raising this ‘baby’?


Personally, I have a little more preference to what breed the cat is as I am mildly allergic. I want a cute, small, and female kitten, but my allergies come first so I may have to give up a few of these standards. My roommate also wants a particular type of animal, so we are working with one another to find a cat that fits both our needs. We also need to discuss the specific responsibilities as cat moms, such as sharing expenses and medical requirements. In order to gain some insight, I thought back to a collaboration where I witnessed first hand work for UCSB Arts & Lectures. Grupo Corpo is a 21 member contemporary dance group that helped me learn the meaning of collaboration. 


Collaboration: What Does It Mean? 


On this idea of working together with my roommate, I realized the meaning of collaboration can take many different forms. The emphasis on shared goals is important; without it, collaboration turns into cooperation on a project or idea. Being a part of the UCSB Arts & Lectures staff has allowed me to witness collaboration firsthand. Working the various events, it is clear to see everyone wants to see a successful and enjoyable experience for the guest speakers and/or performers, and especially the audience.

I remember watching all twenty-one members of Grupo Corpo perform in perfect unison on the stage of The Granada Theatre; putting in their strongest efforts, leaving selfishness behind for the benefit of the company as a whole. It even goes beyond the performance, but includes all the advanced preparation and dynamics of collaboration that go between the dance group and the production team. I think witnessing these collaborative efforts influences my own opinion that my friend and I have decided on a shared goal, and it comes down to executing fairness and consideration for one another. 


Lyndsay’s Experience


After coming to the consensus on what collaboration means to me from the arts, I was curious to hear more of a personal perspective. I know that to be a successful co-mother to my cat, it will have to go beyond just knowing the meaning, but also how to implement collaboration in my own lifestyle. I thought that if I could hear about a shared experience, it would help me better my abilities to raise a cat. I asked my mentor, Lyndsay Cooke, a few questions on her experience raising a dog with her roommate. 


Q: What does collaboration mean to you? 

A: I have played sports most of my life so I always think about collaboration as being a part of a team. You are working towards the same goal but each of you brings different strengths, ideas, and experiences to the team. 


Q: What are some ways you and your roommate use collaboration to raise your dog? 

A: Communication is key! Also, we are always planning ahead so we are aware of each other’s schedules and can make sure the dog’s needs are met. 


Q: What are some recommendations you can give me on collaborating with my own roommate as a co-parent? 

A: Have the difficult conversation early. Talk about what you will do if someone decides to move out. Talk about what you will do if there is a large vet bill. Talk about what collaboration and sharing responsibility means to each of you. 


Q: What are some issues and highlights you have had co-raising your dog ?

A: We do sometimes disagree on training and care methods. We each have our own way of handling the dog but it is important to be willing to listen to the other person and be flexible at times. The greatest “highlight” is being able to have a dog! I know I would not be able to do it alone so I am incredibly grateful for the opportunity and the support my roommate gives. 



This is Wolf. She was adopted from the Santa Barbara Humane Society and is 9 months old. 
















Moving Forward


After Lyndsay shared her experience, and with the art background of Grupo Corpo, I realized that collaboration does mean a shared goal, but doesn’t necessarily mean to have the same strategies and practices. There is an incorporation of different strengths and ideas that blend together, leaving space for creativity and openness. To me, the idea of collaboration has never seemed so intricate and satisfying before. I know there can be forks in the road along the way, but those just ignite and inspire new ways to work together! I hope that these past learning experiences can help me become the best cat mom ever, and even aid me with other group projects and efforts.

21 views
bottom of page