top of page
  • Kiran Kaur

Our Isla Vista Community During a Global Crisis



By this time, we have all begun to understand the depth and scale to which the coronavirus pandemic has affected all aspects of various lifestyles around the planet. Yes, self isolation and hygienic practice is the best way to handle the situation, and I’m not saying to start social gatherings again (for those of you eager to jump at the opportunity), but I wanted to take a step back and reflect on the change in my own community. I am a rising senior at the University of California, Santa Barbara and, just as many of the other students, I resided in Isla Vista during my attendance. To me, Isla Vista is a home away from home where I live with my closest friends and opportunities for social interaction are just footsteps away with the proximity of the beach, restaurants, and other forms of recreation. My form of self-expression is welcomed in the community with opening arms as many of the residents and fellow college students are understanding and carefree in many ways. Moving back home to live with my family has been enjoyable, but conflict and family drama seems to be unavoidable at times and has brought me to ponder upon this topic. 


Experiences of Isla Vista Residents


I am interested in how Isla Vista residents are adapting to new environments and the change in what the community means to them. I would like to share a few of their responses  to give further insight into what Isla Vista means to UC Santa Barbara students. 


Q: What does the Isla Vista community mean to you? 

“ It is a second home to me. It has provided so much comfort through this crazy college experience. It has always been a place where I can escape from my family life and really allowed me to make a life for myself.” -- Theresa Parcell, junior 


Q: How have your relationships tied to Isla Vista been affected by the pandemic? 

“I have not seen any of my friends for over a month and have since had to end my leasing agreement, which has strained my relationship with my housemates.” -- Gary Bains, senior


Q: What can the Isla Vista community provide to you at this time? 

“ They can provide comfort in the sense of normalcy, motivation, and reason to look forward to the future.” -- Theresa Aromin, junior 


Looking at these responses, it is clear that Isla Vista provides the foundations for strong friendships and social connections for many students like me. Losing the comfort of this town has left students with heavy hearts, especially many seniors who have had their graduation on stage postponed. In response to that, I have been noticing all sorts of "drive-thru" style graduations, with friends and family members driving their cars and honking as a form of celebration. In fact, my neighbor right across the street experienced this and it was amazing for me to see! Before all social isolation, I don't think I would have ever seen anything like that in a million years! Although the creative minds of students is heartwarming to me, I still wanted to look into what local businesses and facilities are doing to flatten the curve so students and the people of Isla Vista can soon join together once again. 


Local restaurants in Isla Vista remain open such as common favorites like Woodstock’s Pizza, Caje, Bagel Cafe, and Rockfire Grill. However, they have had to let as much as half of their student employees go or reduce their hours, due to slow business flow. In comparison, Isla Vista Food Co-op has seen a 10% increase in their sales due to a larger demand for produce and shelf-food items. But, some of their staff has left as well, leaving the remaining people to take over longer hours and shifts. It is a difficult time for college students losing their source of income, especially with no adjustments to tuition, and for those stuck with more demanding shifts with no increase in pay. 


Learning about these difficulties, I want to share forms of community support that can be provided to my peers in the area (link below). Although I have been lucky enough to transition to a form of remote work and education, it still continues to be a learning experience with bumps in the road along the way. It is difficult for me to stay on task at home and have any sense of social gratification without being in direct contact with my friends. I am learning to adjust to this process because I want to prioritize flattening the curve during this global pandemic, but at the same time looking forward to prospective changes where Isla Vista community members can easily reach out to one another without the troubles of remote interaction.


 

Resources


2 views
bottom of page