top of page
  • Ruby Sanchez

Creating a Virtual Community Through Music

Updated: Jun 12, 2020

Music has always been there for me and has gotten me through some tough times. I think many of us can relate to this statement, especially right now. When I first heard that artists were postponing or canceling their music tours, I was extremely saddened. Although, I know that it’s the best decision in order to keep everyone safe. Coachella, EDC, and Beyond Wonderland were all postponed until later in the year. Although these major events are postponed, artists are finding a way to bring people together virtually through music. These live streams are creating a community and are a reminder that we are not alone. Some musicians are even hosting these virtual streams as a way to raise donations for nonprofit organizations that give back to the community, such as local food banks. I definitely feel gratitude toward these artists because their music is spreading joy during these hard times.


Just this morning, singer Megan Thee Stallion announced a remix to one of her most popular songs “Savage” ft. Beyoncé. A share of the proceeds will go to Bread of Life Inc., a disaster relief organization located in Houston, Texas. Megan Thee Stallion and Beyoncé are two of many artists who are using their platforms to support people struggling during the pandemic. I believe that music has always connected people from all around the world. During these times music is doing much more than just connecting people; music is creating a bond and community.


Live streams that I have seen


I have been listening to several different live streams, including the ones performed on Instagram Live and Youtube. IPSY is hosting a spring social in which they bring different artists to perform on their Instagram live. Last week I saw the singer Doja Cat perform on IPSY’s Instagram Live. I was planning on going to one of Doja Cat’s shows in LA, so it was really unfortunate to hear that the tour was postponed due to the current crisis. During the Livestream, there’s a chatbox feature that allows you to type a reaction and connect with others. The chatbox was blowing up during Doja Cat’s performance. Although it's not the same as being in a crowd full of people who have the same admiration toward a specific artist, I definitely felt the positive and crazy energy within this community.


Another performance I saw on Instagram Live was by John Legend. I have never been to a John Legend concert, but after seeing that virtual performance I definitely want to go to one. On March 27th he sang and played piano for about an hour. I didn’t get a chance to see the whole Livestream since I joined late, but John Legend posted the entire performance on his Instagram. If you haven’t had a chance to watch it, I definitely encourage you to do so. One of my favorite songs that he performed was a cover of Beauty and the Beast. Maybe I’m just saying that because it’s one of my favorite Disney movies, but it really did lift my spirits.



Another popular live stream series that I have been watching is the #VirtualRaveaThon. This series is hosted by Insomniac, an American electronic music event promoter. This hashtag features many different edm DJs who are performing live on Youtube. What I like about these virtual streams is that it gives me the chance to discover new artists. One new artist that I discovered through the #VirtualRaveaThon is Jauz. Watching his livestream has pushed me to listen to more of his songs and watch more of his sets.


When the #VirtualRaveaThon first was announced, I thought “oh that’s not going to be the same thing as watching an artist in person”. Yes it is different, but in a good way. This series welcomes everybody, it’s free, and is very accessible. Also, what I like about this series being performed on Youtube is that once the live stream is over, the video stays posted on Youtube so you can go back to it at any time.


One World: Together at Home


One popular campaign is the One World: Together At Home. This campaign is a way to raise funds for the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund for the World Health Organization. More than 60 artists came together to perform online and show solidarity. This virtual concert series was broadcasted on April 18 and is available to watch on Youtube. It is also available to listen to on Spotify, here is the link:


The World Health Organization and Global Citizen partnered with Lady Gaga to bring us a six-hour live stream. The live stream featured artists like Billie Eilish, Elton John, and Hozier. My favorite performance was the Killer’s “Mr. Brightside”. I have listened to that song so many times and will never stop loving it. It’s just one of those songs that you know all the lyrics to.




What I really liked about One World: Together at Home is that it included artists from all different types of genres. Having this much of a range is important because it reaches a bigger audience. It makes people feel included and recognized. I think this is especially important right now since many feel isolated during these times. Music may be the only sense of comfort we have at this moment; so witnessing the community that is being created through music is inspiring and beautiful.


The Future of Live Music


Going to concerts and music festivals is one of my favorite things to do. The environment is freeing, fun, and ultimately pure bliss. When you watch an artist live, you become one with the music and forget about anything else. I believe that when this pandemic is over, going to a concert or festival will hold a different meaning. For me, I will be more grateful and remind myself to not take those moments for granted. These virtual streams are a reminder that we are in this together and we will get through it. Being part of this community has made me feel supported and loved. Seeing these live streams gives me hope. It reminds me that better days are ahead and I have a community who is there for me.


9 views
bottom of page